Testimonials


"The testimonials found on this page are copy and pasted from customers emails, messages, and posts with their permission.  In some instances names are left out(or left as an alias) to protect privacy concerns.  I want to thank everyone who contributes with these testimonials for taking their time to write them. All kinds of feedback and discussion is welcome for Tar Heel Ants.  If you want your testimonial added here please email us at tarheelants@gmail.com.  The purpose of these testimonials is to let  others see what customers have to say about their experiences with Tar Heel Ants.  This also helps match potential customers (experienced or unexperienced ant keepers alike) to a selection of products that will meet their individual style."

Mack Pridgen, Owner, Tar Heel Ants

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I received the formicariums today, I know that the pictures look good online but I had no idea that these enclosures are so nice.  I can tell there was a lot of thought and time that went into designing these things and I applaud you for providing something so nice. From now on any formicarium that I need will be coming from you, your enclosures are truly a work of art.

Lester, USA, September, 2018.

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Than

"I have only used the mini hearths from Mack but I'd like to endorse his product with 100% satisfaction. I have used many different formicariums, first started with 3D printed nests last year for my Campo species. Then moved on to dirt boxes from the container store. I also experimented with various acrylic nests from Chinese manufacturers. They are okay but heating and humidity control is hard. Out of all the ones I just listed nothing compares to Mack's Mini Hearth. The design is just elegant, fits all the utilities you'd need for a healthy colony in a space saving design. Heating and humitidy control has never been easier! Just a heating cable on the side and the temperature is a perfect low 80 degrees F. The water tower provides the perfect humidity as well! I just moved my Campo species out of the acrylic nest into the mini hearth and they really seem to like it. Moved in under 5 minutes. 
First time customer and 100% will return for more. Worth every penny!"

Frank Su, Boulder, Colorado, USA.  October 2018.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would like to thank you for the Tar Heel ants mini hearth that I bought about a month ago. I wanted to let you know that I was really impressed with it and is now is occupied by my young messor barbarus colony. Also that when my colony outgrows the mini hearth I will be placing another order for a bigger formicarium. Your work is well worth the purchase:)

A. Thompson, September, 2018.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't know where to start, I just want to thank you so much for all you do.  I recommend you to all of my friends. My dad says your a bit pricey but what I say is these are the best formicaria I know of and I trust him to keep my ants alive.  I just bought a Casita for my  Camponotus pennsylvanicus and Im so excited."

Peter, Iowa, USA. July 2018

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

These are absolute works of art. Function and form work perfectly together. I don't know how you do it, but keep it up!

Tony, New York, USA.  July 2018.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We live in Raleigh and were just so amazed to see Tar Heel Ants retail location directly down the road from our neighborhood.  I did not realize you had just opened your shop the previous week and my son was thrilled to have found one of his favorite ant "stuff" suppliers nearby so we came by and purchased a small colony in a Mini Hearth formicarium.  The fact that you were able to move the colony in within a few minutes while we waited was fantastic! The level of service and knowledge you (Mack) shared with us has to be second-to-none!  I would give our experience a 10 out of 10!  We will be back soon I am sure...

Becky, Raleigh, NC, USA.  April 2018.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Just a note to tell you how happy I am with the mini hearth. A little work of art! My camponatus queen moved her brood from the test tube setup to the Mini hearth within 10 hours or so without any heat or light! She knew it was an upgrade.Thanks again."

USA, July 2017.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your formicaria are the best I have seen!  I will be ordering more soon.  My ants moved in overnight and I have been snapping some amazing photos already with my new camera phone!

J.J.S., Massachusetts, USA.  September, 2017.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you very much for this formicarium. It is really well built and came completely intact. I am very satisfied with this product. I will be sure to order again in the future!

T.K., USA, September 2017

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My ants immediately moved into the Mini Hearth nest after leaving the test tube.  Impressive habitat overall and much smaller than I thought.  But perfect for the space I have available to me.  I will order more soon!  The PDF guide was a big help!

Ant Keeper from Switzerland June 2017

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks man! Good setup. My Formica gnava Colony likes it! Expect me to purchase again!

Ant Keeper in Washington state, USA, June 2017

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I gotta say, the more I get familiar with the formicarium (Nucleus 360), the more I realize this is an amazing work of art.  Hats off to you.  It's very smartly engineered.  And good recommendation on the museum glass.  Worth the cost.  Thanks again for opening up the amazing world of ants to us lay folk.  

Scott, Californian Ant Keepers, USA, May 2017

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey Tarheel Ants, I'd just like to thank you so much for your hard work. Your formicariums are really outstanding, high quality and are perfect for ants. I bought an THA Atom A for my tetramorium queen because cotton stands strangled her brood and from there her colony has grown and grown. Here's a video of them now inside one of your inception chamber smalls!  Anthony, USA, November 2016.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Casita: I've looked at it every which way. In, as far as I can see, and all around the outside too. This isn't just a formicarium: It's a work of art. It is especially delightful to see how very laid-back the ants are. They have strolled around every nook, crevice & cranny, and will often just hang back enjoying the surroundings with all the corridors and passageways. Under the Casita there is a raised transparent dais, and the Head of State, Queen Lignacia the Compassionate, has parked herself thereon fairly and square. Truly, the Queen is Enthroned!

John, UK.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have three camponotus queens at this time. One in mini hearth, one in test tube in dark box, and one in a test tube open placed in an out world. All were caught roughly around the same time. All have eggs and pupae, but the only one that has produced workers is in the mini hearth. I love how "natural" the environment looks in the mini hearth and my ants like to use the stalactites to hang up side down. This is a cool product.

Maryland, USA.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello,
I purchased a pinnacle Formicarium from you around this time last year. I just wanted to let you know that it has been a huge success and that the ants are doing well. They are Tetramorium sp. ants. There are upwards of 50 ants with tons of brood. They are put on display in the museum regularly. Thanks for your help in creating this display!

Sean, Rhode Island, USA (Delaware Natural History Museum).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tar Heel Ants have been my one-stop shop for all my ant keeping needs! Ever since Summer of 2015, I had already purchased 3 formicaria, 1 founding formicaria, and many supplies from the easy- o-use ordering website. Mack, the owner, has always been available to answer all my questions and had provided recommendations for the design and use of his special hand-made enclosures. You will not be disappointed at the quality of these formicaria! The clever designs that Mack has for these formicaria cater to the needs of any ant species.

Currently, I have Novomessor Cockerelli ants in the very first “Traditions” style formicarium that I purchased last summer. They are doing so well and still thriving! For the “Hearth” style formicariu, I purchased earlier this year, I housed my Acromyrmex Versicolor species. The big chamber the Hearth offers is big enough to fit the fungus garden that the ant species is known for. The third formicaria I purchased was for my Formica Francoeuri species. I went with another “Traditions”, but this time with new features like removable glass so that there is easier access to the nest. The founding formicaria “Atom Nest” I purchased a few months ago was used for my Dorymyrmex Bicolor Queen. She has many brood now, proving that this formicarium has been providing her comfort to lay her eggs!

Some supplies like his liquid feeders and nestmates are so cool! You can basically put any liquid thickness you want and it will not gush through the mesh opening and flood your ants. Also, his availability of fluon, feeding dishes, and many other supplies makes his online shop the only place you need to go for everything you will need. Overall, Mack always strives to make his enclosures innovative and better every time! I promise that you will not be disappointed, and I for one can vouch that his formicarias are the most natural looking and the very best quality out there! – Nathaniel V

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I received my Mini Hearth and Nucleus t=Type ll about five days ago. After practicing with the water towers for a couple of days I attached two of my queens to each nest. In less than 24 hours both queens and their troops moved into their perspective new homes with very little encouragement. They have settled in incredibly quickly and seem to have got used to their spacious new surroundings in no time. They are already foraging and marking out their new territories. The Tar Heel Ant nests are beautifully made and eye catching and even my friends and family who have never shown any interest before are drawn over to take a look. I'm looking forward to many more months and years of ant keeping with Tar Heel Ant and I am already looking at more products for my third queen and her small brood. Thank you!  Kerry, UK.  June, 2016.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“First off I’m a fan of Tar Heel Ants. Why? Because my Ants prefer Tar Heel Ants. It is that simple. 

I did my research for over a year before getting started in the hobby. And I investigated just about every web site, forum, book, or YouTube video I could get my hands on. I have notebooks full of information, pictures, and stuff pertaining to our hobby. But I am a newb through and through. I learn something new every day. 

So I got started just like everyone else. Found my first queen – got a test tube…. then another queen… another test tube…. And so on. They did OK, but I knew I needing something more. So I will be honest. I tried a couple of different options. Acrylic with the test tubes, 3D printed nest, and Tar Heel Ants Inception Chambers. 

The Inceptions Chambers were a huge hit. The queens moved right in on their own & have done nothing but thrive. The queens I put into the other options did not. But like I said, I’m a newb, I’m not saying I lost those queens because of the nest I gave them. It could have been the result of any number of factors. But I haven’t lost a single queen that I put in Tar Heel Ants nests. 

I can’t wait to place my next order. I need to soon. My ladies have outgrown their nest in the first season. So yes…. Long story short…. I’m a fan. I have happy, health, thriving new colonies that aren't slowing down…. So they’re happy too.” 

Ravenblue2u, USA. (November, 2015)

 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“For over three years now I have been buying products from Tar Heel Ants.  I have been both honored and privileged to watch Mack develop Amazing new products over the last 3 years from the first Haven to water towers and inception chambers.  It's been truly amazing watching all the new things Tar Heel Ants has developed over the years and I hope to be as privileged for MANY more years to come. 

I would like to review my favorite all-time formicarium, the Haven.  I am the proud owner of 3 Haven formicaria from Tar Heel Ants.  One is an older Haven without a water tower, one with a water tower, and one with both water towers and nest mates.  I bought my first Haven 2 years ago and am still using it.  It's durable, long lasting, and I have reused it numerous times. The second Haven I bought last year was one of the first to have a water tower.  It is the current home of my 2 year old Pogonomyrmex occidentalis colony and they seem to like it.  My newest version of the Haven is just amazing.   My 1 year old Pogonomyrmex occidentalis colony exploded in numbers and it is by far my favorite.   The newest Haven is as durable as my first one and with the upgrades that make it ten times better.  I recommend the newest Haven to anyone with colonies past the founding stage.   I can't wait to see what new improvements THA has in store in future years.” 

Anthony Turner, Colorado, USA. (November, 2015)

 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Having started keeping ants using tubs and bottles a few years ago to now finding Tar Heel Ants, i couldn't go back. Having bought over 20 formicariums and 7 different types this hobby does get addictive. All made easier by THA's customizable homes, each one comes unique, fulfilling your colonies requirements and you won’t be disappointed. Fantastic options for both beginners and the more experienced keeper.

K Arnott (United Kingdom). (November, 2015)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 As a recurring customer for several years now I wanted to say how much I enjoy the open relationship between customer and seller and how pleasurable it is to be able to ask any general questions or special requests and get back quality service on a more open friendship based relationship! Treat people well and they will be happy! Also the line of formicaria is unique compared to others as well! Having the option of customizing you're formicaria for specific needs with species is a stand out alone by itself, and with the new removable glass added with water towers and the unique natural look it’s the best quality formicaria out there! I have purchased "many" from THA and will continue to do so because I want the best service and quality formicaria that suppliers have to offer!    

Jeffrey from Sacramento, California, USA.  (November, 2015)

 ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I have been a loyal THA customer for several years and would like to speak to the quality and construction of their formicaria as well as their devotion to customer service. I own seven different formicaria and all were built not only with attention to detail, but also to mimic the specific requirements of the species that I keep. THA owner Mack Pridgen is a gifted craftsman that can build anything anyone dreams up, and is always willing to modify one of his "standard" formicaria. I hesitate to use the word standard as Mack is constantly upgrading and building better formicaria with more options all for a very reasonable price. I have spoken with him both on the phone and on the internet and he has always been very patient and understanding and willing to share his knowledge and experience. I unequivocally recommend THA products for ant enthusiasts of all abilities.” 

Shane Aldrich, Michigan, USA. (November, 2015)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I have been into ants breeding from some years now and usually I made my ants nests myself. But when I saw Tar Heel Ants nests I understood what the excellence is! So every time I have a "difficult" species or some specific requirements there is nothing better than the works that Mack Pridgen makes. He's simply one step beyond. The materials are excellent, the hand making is accurate, and the care that he puts into every single detail, from cleanliness to moisture control, from ventilation to visibility, from the decor to the choice of colour and materials, make his formicaria unique. In a world of massive productions, having this wonderful works, made one by one and customized, makes the difference between a successful breeding and a problematic one. He seems to know exactly what the ant’s need, and this knowledge surely come from years of research and observations of different species of ants in the wild and in laboratories. And what is also great is that he is open to any discussion, change, or adaptation in order to accomplish the goals required. Being overseas, for me the costs of shipment are not cheap, but the price difference - if compared to other formicaria builders - accounts for the high quality by far. Every time I put a colony into a THA nest, ants immediately settle, as if they have always been there. And this describes THA quality much better than any word! I hope to be able to expose one of his large formicarium in the museum where I work soon.”

Guglielmo Maglio, Naples Italy

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Video review of the Mini Hearth by Miles Maxcer!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"The order arrived promptly and in perfect condition. I am extremely happy with it (it looks amazing with the museum glass), and have successfully housed a colony of seed-harvesting ants in it. Thank you for products of unmatched quality! "

Leonid, July 2015, United Kingdom

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"My friends think I have lost my mind but I am totally sunk into the hobby of ant keeping.  I maybe a little overboard compared to the average interest of an ant keeper, but I think I am just super lucky to keep finding ants!  I collect them with a peace in mind knowing the habitats are the best and most natural I have ever seen!  Thank you Tar Heel Ants for what you do!"

Carter, California, USA, July, 2015.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The big thumb up for Tar Heel Ants is that Mack, the owner, is willing to listen to your needs instead of pushing his ideas onto you. No matter how idiotic your requests may be, he will do what he can in order to create your dream formicariums. He will attempt to comply with every small details you demand from him. You will also be impressed how good packaging is for your shipment. While I doubt it will survive a nuclear blast, it will likely survive brutal abuses from courier employees who often play ping-pong with shipments. The price may be on a little on high side but you should know that quality & class do not come cheap”

From Dean_k of Antjournals.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Best quality formicarium I have ever seen. Plus when I needed some advice for formicarium needs Mack was more than willing to help! 10/10 satisfaction!"

Christian Taylor, July 2015, USA.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I am a loyal THA customer and will continue to be so in the future as well. His work is topnotch and I do not know ANY other business owners who give so selflessly of their time and knowledge."

Shane Aldrich, Michingan, USA, 2015.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I have tried various feeders, and at times they work, but they are prone to mistakes which flood foraging areas and drown ants. This feeder has really no chance of user error and I have not drowned a single ant once. Even when a drop was pushed out of the feeder, the ring caught it and the drop was so small no ants were drowned. These feeders seem bullet proof."

Cameron, Santa Clara, California, USA, July 2015.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"In July 2012 I had just recently caught 2 Pogonomyrmex occidentalis queens and discovered I still had a passion for keeping ants. I searched on the Internet for anything new to try to keep them in. I didn't want to repeat past mistakes and see my queens die. It was thanks to a fellow Colorado Ant keeper that I found Tar Heel Ants.Fast forward to today in 2015. I have watched Mack revolutionized Ant keeping with Amazing new products. I am proud to calm myself a Tar Heel Ants supporter and life long customer. I currently have over 8 thriving colonies in THA products. Three of my colonies are over 2 years old."
Thank you so much Mack!!!!
July, 2015.  Anthony Turner, Colorado, USA.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 This review/testimonial needed it's own page! (link below)

(link goes to a separate page, by clicking you will remain on our website)

Nucleus Review

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am very impressed with your Piece of Haven's. The upperworld is sparse and very Zen-like with the sparkling white sand.

John, USA, May 2015.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I like my Casita Red formicaria because of the color choice I had. I picked red because I introduced a smaller Formica sp that was black and wanted them to show better. I also like it's compact size and it's square shape that keeps the formicarium truly centered. The nest area is in one corner and takes up both sides. I enjoy how it hydrates at different points and levels within the nest. I also like how well it's stays clean and no over- moistening issues have ever been noticed. I contribute this to it's small centered size and excellent ventilation. The out world is big enough for the ants to roam and gather food. The whole package is realistic natural and the ants are happy at home.

I'm at this moment purchasing another Casita Sand color this time. Which I have a growing Formica Fusca that will be using this formcaria. I'm trying a Grass theme with some small pebbles which is their natural environment for this type of species of ant. I'm sure that they will be happy and prevail.

Thanks Mack!

Bill, California, USA.  May, 2015.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First time raising ants and first time buying from Tar Heel and let me tell you I had the best experience! Tar Heel Ants has the best service and the best formicarium designs and believe me I looked everywhere to find something that I would be proud to place it in my room. Also, Mack was so helpful with everything. I asked if he can send the formicarium soon as​ possible and he told me about the expediting process, it was basically paying 20% (which I totally understand since all his formicariums are hand-made) and get my order ship ASAP. In conclusion, I received my order in a WEEK and the Casita formicarium looks just amazing with so many details. Thank you Tar Heel Ants! Believe me this won't be the last time purchasing from you guys. I can't wait until my lasius niger colony to grow so I can buy the nucleus formicarium! Haha.

Joe Y., Georgia, U.S.A., May 2015

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I wanted to thank you for your exceptional customer service.  We received the package in time for our son’s birthday and the birthday card is proudly displayed in our kitchen – so thoughtful!  Also, the products are superb, so meticulously crafted and well thought out.  I appreciate what you have created and I know it is a labor of love.  We enjoyed reading the story about how you got started and when we see the formicarium – we feel a connection from our place to yours. 

We’ll send you a photo if we are fortunate enough to get a colony started.” 

Best regards,

Laurie (de Jong)

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

​I have always been interested in ants. I can remember, in days of old, watching captured workers tunneling in an old ice cream container that I had filled with sand. The one thing wrong with it, is that they kept dying. I later learned that you needed a queen ant for a truly successful colony of ants.  So, naturally, I would want raise a true colony.​ I would fail miserably. Then I came across Tar Heel Ants, and ordered a Piece of Haven. I would give it a try. I was hugely impressed by the quality and looks of the formicarium. The customer service was (and is) great. It was well packaged, and it came in quick. I can imagine my colony thanking me for such an amazing home, and I in turn thank Tar Heel Ants. If I had to give them a rating out of 10, I'd go with twenty.

Jason L., Crystal River, Florida. 2015.

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 I got the ant nest, The casita. Omg it’s amazing. Thank you soo much.. I like the view that it offers.. Love the small cute size of this nest. And how easy it is to clean it and is just very portable!!      Again thanks so much 

Rasiel Diaz, Florida, April, 2015

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tar Heel Ants has the best service and amazing products.  Even with the website down in early May, Mack still helped me order a Longhouse formicarium.  This is the Best place for your ant's needs! My Camponotus floridanus colony did amazing in the both the Talus and the Greater Talus thanks to Tar Heel Ants great work.  The water tower in both formicaria helped me maintain humidity tremendously.  My ants were very comfortable in both formicarium and I liked how the chambers were made.  Now I am upgrading to a Longhouse because they are running out of room!  Customer service was amazing as always.  This is the Best place for your ant's needs! Thank you, Mack!

Bryce Laplante, Florida, May 2015

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I thought you would like to know that my A. occidentalis colony is now happily living in one of the chambers of the Tar Heel Ants formicarium. On Saturday night, I connected their old dried up test tube to the new nest using tubing. I shown multiple bright lights on the test tube and covered the nest with a post card to ensure complete darkness. I also moistened the nest interior in several locations. By early morning, without any additional encouragement from me, the entire colony, including queen and brood, had settled in one of the wetter chambers of the new formicarium. This is one of the fastest ant colony relocations I have ever observed in captivity. I am also happy to say that workers began exploring the Tar Heel Ants foraging arena very quickly after the move. It didn't take them long at all to find the piece of cricket I had left in there and drag it back to the nest. The whole unit (formicarium and outworld) is a splendid work of art and design. It far surpasses anything else of its kind that I have bought or constructed. 

Conor Kimball, Fort Collins, Colorado

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Tar Heel Ants has great products and outstanding customer service! Two thumbs up!

Derek Wheeler, Grand Prairie, Texas

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello there, I got home this morning from my vacation and the package is the first thing I opened/unpacked. Everything looks wonderful and it took my colony literally 10 minutes to completely move in. They decided to go to the top level of the inn. The out world looks really good and clean and everything is better than anything I could create. Thanks so much for everything.

Kyle Grinestaff, Leola, Pennsylvania
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

You can tell Mack has put a lot of effort in the products he makes. The quality is top notch. I am not only amazed by the product but by Mack himself as he provides great customer service. This is what had sealed the deal. I had purchased a formicarium (design and colors of my choice), a few test tubes and a tube connector. The process was fast and simple, with Mack answering ALL the questions I had in a little as a day. I can guarantee that my ants love the formicarium more than I do. 10/10

 

- Ryan Ardley, Queensland, Australia

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Tar Heel Ants is simply the best store for ant-related goods. In the past, I have created my own formicaria and have ordered from various suppliers. Despite owning nests from five other companies, my last six formicaria have all been from Tar Heel Ants. Mack, like the rest of us, is an ant lover. He caters his products to exactly what you need. If you are new to the hobby or are unsure of what you require, he always has suggestions or will ask various questions to determine the exact item you are looking for. If you are an amateur myrmecologist and know the types of ants you wish to keep but don’t know what would fit them best, Mack will go out of his way to perform the research necessary to create something that will accommodate your genus and species. Even if you research ants for a living, he can provide you with naturalistic settings for your studies. I have ordered products that fit all three of the above categories and I couldn’t be happier with my purchases. Mack’s customer service and quality control are second-to-none. If you are unhappy with a purchase, you can simply contact him and he will take care of it. If you have any suggestions for future products or for improvements on his current designs, he is always open to suggestions. We have had over one hundred correspondences now; most of which involve discussions about how to fine-tune his nests and how to promote the hobby of ant keeping. His store exists for the sole purpose of making the hobby we all love accessible to new demographics. His passion for ants and his willingness to help newcomers makes him a great asset to the community.

- Chao Qi, Los Angeles, CA

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I have purchased a formicarium from Tar Heel Ants, and I am very pleased with the quality and the craftsmanship. Several friends have seen it and are now considering purchasing some for themselves. I couldn't be happier with this product and I would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat. Thank you Tar Heel Ants for a fine product."

-Robert Slattery, Raleigh, NC

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Roommate owns a farm and he loves it. Whenever we asked a question about the farm itself, or tips on finding ants in a busy city like ours, we got our answers quickly and they were very well detailed. We've spent countless hours looking at our queen and it's all thanks to Tar Heel Ants!

 

Robert Dote

New York, New York

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Hello, I bought a Dueling Formicarium about a year ago for my Messor barbarus colony consisting of about 20 workers and a queen at the time. I put them in the small chamber and closed off the bigger one with cotton. Before long i had to open the bigger chamber up for them and they continue to thrive, they are about 200 strong with majors and minors. I am in need of a bigger tank!”

Brandon Mikec. Pennsylvania, U.S.A. December 2014.

 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The formicaria came in today and they are beautiful! Everything is perfect! Thanks again. I will definitely order from you in the future. Can't wait to see my colonies grow in them.

Phil, August 2014, U.S.A

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I am currently keeping 6 queens of different species in Growth Chambers.  2 Pheidole sp., 1 Aphaenogaster sp., 3 unknown.   I caught all of them the same morning in mid-July.  After only a couple of days of being in their Growth Chambers they all had a pile of eggs.   I like using the Growth Chambers over a test tube because they are stackable, which comes in handy since my 'ant area' is fairly small.  I also prefer them for the simple fact that test tubes can break fairly easily and I was always worried about them rolling and disturbing the queen and her brood.  Growth Chambers are also better for long time periods since they can be repeatedly watered to satisfy the ants rather than having to change test tubes when one dries up.   I love all my products from Tar Heel Ants and I wouldn't use anything else for my ants.

Tyler, Arkansas, U.S.A. July 2014

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I have to say- my mother was worried about me having multiple formicarium out on my desk for all to see but when the mini pinnacle came in today she unabashedly called it a work of art. I think it's a little more aesthetically pleasing than the gel ant farms I've had in the past. Haha! And by a little more I mean 1,000 times more. What you do IS art!”

Chelsea, July 2014, U.S.A.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The Formicarium just arrived - just in time too as I am leaving to the airport for the world cup today! The colony took to their new home almost immediately - took less than 1 hour for everyone to move! Actually some of the larger ants were carrying the smaller ones all the way to the new one as if to tell them "this is where you live now!". 

I'm off now - but thank you again for another job well done. I'm sure i'll be purchasing soon again!” Best regards Mitchell, United Kingdom, 2014.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“I am very satisfied with the formicarium. Thanks!”

Dylan, January 2014.